Groups

Groups are collections of users. In large systems with many users, it might be helpful to organize them into groups.

Groups may receive notifications; this is often a more convenient way to operate than configuring notifications to send to individuals. This lets you build more complex notification workflows and makes it easier to manage recipients.

Create a group

  1. Log in as a user with admin permissions.

  2. Click the Gear symbol at the top-right of the screen and choose Configure OpenNMS  Configure Users, Groups and On-Call Roles  Configure Groups.

  3. Click Add New Group and specify the its name and description.

    You cannot use angle brackets (<>), single (') and double (") quotation marks, or the ampersand symbol (&) in the group name.
  4. Add a user to the group by selecting them from the Available Users list and clicking >> to move them to the Currently in Group list.

  5. (Optional) Assign responsibility categories (Routers, Switches, Servers, and so on).

  6. (Optional) Create a duty schedule.

  7. Click Finish to apply the changes.

The order of users in a group is important. Notifications are sent to users in order from the top of the group membership list to the bottom.

Modify group membership

  1. Log in as a user with admin permissions.

  2. Click the Gear symbol at the top-right of the screen and choose Configure OpenNMS  Configure Users, Groups and On-Call Roles  Configure Groups.

  3. Find the group that you want to modify and click the Modify icon next to its name.

  4. Modify the group membership as appropriate.

    • Add a user to the group by selecting them from the Available Users list and clicking >> to move them to the Currently in Group list.

    • Remove a user from the group by selecting them from the Currently in Group list and clicking << to move them to the Available Users list.

  5. Click Finish to apply the changes.

The order of users in a group is important. Notifications are sent to users in chronological order, from the top of the group membership list to the bottom.

Delete a group

  1. Log in as a user with admin permissions.

  2. Click the Gear symbol in the top-right of the screen and choose Configure OpenNMS  Configure Users, Groups and On-Call Roles  Configure Groups.

  3. Find the group that you want to delete and click the Delete symbol next to its name.

  4. Click OK to confirm your decision.

If you delete a group, no one receives a notification that it has been deleted. If the group is associated with a schedule, that schedule will also be deleted, and users previously included in the group will no longer receive notifications that were set up in the schedule.