User Maintenance

Passwords

Setting a new password for any user

  1. Log in as a User with administrative permissions.

  2. Click the gear icon in the top right.

  3. Choose Configure OpenNMS → Configure Users, Groups and On-Call roles and select Configure Users.

  4. Click the Modify icon next to an existing user and select Reset Password.

  5. Type a new Password, Confirm Password, and click OK.

  6. Click Finish.

Changing your password

  1. Log in with user name and old password.

  2. Choose Change Password from the drop-down below your login name.

  3. Specify your current password then set the new password and confirm it.

  4. Click Submit.

  5. Log out and log in with your new password.

Deleting users and groups

  1. Log in as a user with administrative permissions.

  2. Click the gear icon in the top right.

  3. Choose Configure OpenNMS → Configure Users, Groups and On-Call roles and select Configure Users (Configure Groups).

  4. Click the trash bin icon beside the user (or group) you want to delete.

  5. Confirm delete request with OK.

When you delete a group no one receives notification that the group has been deleted. Be aware that deleting a group or user also removes any schedules associated with that group or user, meaning they will not receive notifcations specified as part of a schedule.

Advanced Configuration

Meridian persists the user, password, and other detail descriptions in the users.xml file.