Groups

A group is a collection of users. Organizing users into groups helps with notifications and allows you to assign a set of users to on-call roles to build more complex notification workflows.

Creating a User Group

  1. Log in as a user with administrative permissions.

  2. Click the gear icon in the top right.

  3. Choose Configure OpenNMS → Configure Users, Groups and On-Call roles and select Configure Groups.

  4. Specify a group name and description and click OK.

Please note that angle brackets (<>), single (') and double quotation marks ("), and the ampersand symbol (&) are not allowed to be used in the group name.
  1. Add users to the group by selecting them from the Available Users column and using the arrows to move them to the Currently in Group column.

  2. (Optional) Assign categories of responsibility to the group, such as Routers, Switches, Servers, etc.

  3. (Optional) Create a set a duty schedule.

  4. Click Finish.

Users will receive notifications in the order in which the user appears in the group.
If you delete a user group, no one receives notification that the group has been deleted. If the group is associated with a schedule, that schedule will no longer exist, and users associated with that group will no longer recieve notifications previously specified in the schedule.